Primary Training Sites

Essentia Health

Essentia Health, headquartered in Duluth, Minn., is an integrated health system serving patients in Minnesota, Wisconsin, North Dakota and Idaho. Essentia began fully integrating operations in the summer of 2010, bringing together the resources of its member organizations – SMDC Health System, Innovis Health, Brainerd Lakes Health and the Essentia Institute of Rural Health.

Essentia Health combines the strengths and talents of 12,800 employees, including 1,500 physicians and credentialed practitioners, whose mission is to provide high quality care while making patients feel known and understood. The organization is guided by the values of quality, hospitality, respect, justice, stewardship and teamwork, and delivers on its promise to be “Here With You” in 18 hospitals, 68 clinics, eight long-term care facilities, two assisted living facilities, four independent living facilities and one research institute.

Essentia Health-St. Mary’s Medical Center

Essentia Health-St. Mary’s Medical Center is the region’s largest hospital. It has a nationally ranked Level I Adult Trauma Center with multiple intensive care units; and a Level II for newborns and children. In the summer of 2010, St. Mary’s Medical Center joined Essentia Health, an integrated health system serving a population of 460,000 patients in Minnesota, Wisconsin, North Dakota and Idaho.

Essentia Health-Duluth Clinic

The Duluth Clinic is a nationally-recognized multi-specialty group with more than 400 physicians covering 44 medical specialties and subspecialties, who work in the Essentia Health system’s hospitals and clinics.

St. Luke’s Hospital of Duluth

St. Luke’s was the first hospital in the city of Duluth. St. Paul’s Episcopal Church founded it in 1881 in response to a typhoid epidemic that was ravaging the city. What began in a small room above a blacksmith’s shop has grown into a regional health care system. St. Luke’s is now a multi-specialty hospital in Duluth and 34 primary and specialty clinics throughout northeastern Minnesota, northwestern Wisconsin and the western Upper Peninsula of Michigan. St. Luke’s initiated the first coordinated trauma program in the region-a program that earned it the honor of being the region’s first federally designated Regional Trauma Center, as well as the first to be verified by the American College of Surgeons as a Level II Trauma Center.